CD convention results

Our virtual convention for the 9th Congressional District elected four delegates to the Democratic National Convention. To represent Joe Biden, they are Mary Lynn Tate, of Abingdon, and Carter Turner, of Radford. To represent Bernie Sanders, they are Amanda Jiménez Thornton, of Radford, and Tanner Stroupe, of Wytheville.  Karen Combs, of Abingdon, ran unopposed to become the district’s presidential elector. The state convention in June will elect additional delegates.